Minxie Winksie's Blog

Meantime

Posted on: April 21, 2010

I think in today’s society it’s assumed that something must be wrong with you if you’re STILL single past the age of 25.  This must be the assumption because many events and activities are couple focused.  You MUST have a date.  But for a single woman trying to focus on other things besides a “Plus One,” life can be a lonely experience.  Let’s be honest, there aren’t many activities for a single girl to partake in.  This also depends on where you life…SO if you live in a small city/big town like I do, you MUST find something to do in the “Meantime.” 

The “Meantime” for a single woman is the period of in-between time; you’re in between being single and finding the right guy.  But, before you get there, you MUST take care of your needs, likes, wants and must-haves.  During this period a woman is supposed to rediscover their favorite activities or discover new ones.  What are some of your favorite hobbies that you no longer get to do?  What are some activities or hobbies that you’ve always wanted to try but never got a chance to? 

My meantime started almost three years ago when I decided to join Weight Watchers and lost 95 pounds in a year and a half.  Then I lost my way when I started dating.  I really wasn’t ready to “find the one.”  I hadn’t even found myself yet!  I never took the time to rediscover myself again.  With my new body came a new life and I never took time to live it.  I was too concerned with dating.  I wanted the attention of as many “men” as I could get…and that led to a lot of trouble…more on that later, much later.

SO, here I am STILL single, 15 pounds gained back (which look FABULOUS on me by the way!), working three jobs STILL and just NOW stepping into my meantime. 

Lately I’ve tried:

  • Creating a blog…ta-da!
  • Writing poetry about being single and how much men suck…
  • And, tie-dyeing…

But, two out of three deal with dating.  I need to get away from that because looking back on my old blog posts it’s as if that’s all I care about.  But I want to do so much more like:

  • Taking acoustic guitar lessons…
  • Redesigning t-shirts with more tie-dye or adding bows to the neckline.  (I LOVE fashion.)…
  • Traveling with girlfriends (single and non)…
  • Working on my non-date related writing…

And whatever else comes along…Either way, I have to keep my focus off online dating.  There’s so much more to me than who I am as I’m waiting for a guy with baggage to wake up and realize I’m the one!  This is my time to go back and rediscover who I am so that I don’t enter a relationship unhealthy, unhappy and not loving myself.  And I’m doing it, right now.

1 Response to "Meantime"

i am a voluntary designer, maybe you’d like to publish some of my images? i think it would be great for your blog 🙂
really admire your blog! send me a mail please in case you want to colaborate

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other follower

Minxie’s Tweets

Categories

